The 2nd year of Bath Film Festival’s FilmScore came to a triumphant climax on Thursday March 24th at Komedia in Bath. An audience of over 100 people attended the Grand Final, while a panel of outstanding industry judges watched the 6 shortlisted finalists, and decided which of them should win the prizes.

FilmScore 2016 was launched last September, when 6 short films were made available online for anyone aged 14-19 in the SW of England. Well over 100 entries were sent in by the deadline of January 31st 2016, from which we drew the shortlisted finalists. The films included an Aardman short starring Morph (Twin Decks), as well as an award-winning NFTS film, and others from the London International Animation Festival and Wildscreen.

The three judges who did such an excellent job on the night were all experienced and successful music composers:

Nainita Desai, who has worked on dozens of documentaries over the last 15 years, including the award-winning Mumbai High: The Musical.

Mark Russell whose career extends over 20 years. He composed the score for Saving Grace, and is working on the very successful Disney show Evermoor.

Alastair King is one of the most prolific and in-demand musicians in the film business, with credits for films and programmes such as Downton Abbey, Dr Who, The Martian and Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix.

Our compere for the evening was the very wonderful Ali Vowles BBC Points West fame, who facilitated a fascinating conversation with the composers about their work, and how they got started as film/TV composers.

There were 6 finalists:

Maddy Cross (for Lofty)

Corey Halford (for Strange Wonderful)

Drew Bodman, Jordan and Freddie (for Twin Decks)

George Hunt and Holly George Samuels (for Got A Spare Afternoon)

Matt Cannon (for Rumble)

Rory Ahanan (for Got A Spare Afternoon)

Each of the entries was shown in turn, and Ali interviewed the finalists on stage.

When all 6 had been shown, the judges retired to decide their verdicts, while the audience also had the chance to make their decisions towards the overall audience vote.

Finally, the judges reappeared and proceeded to give a thorough and engrossing analysis of each of the 6 entries, appreciating the levels of skill and dedication which each of the finalists had put in to their work. They also explained how hard it had been to reach a final decision, given the high standard of the entries.

Then they announced the winners.

In 3rd place, with a prize of £250 was Matt Cannon (who was short listed last year too).

In 2nd place, with a prize of £500 was Maddy Cross, who also won the Audience award.

In 1st place, with a prize of £1000 were George Hunt and Holly George Samuels.

The only thing left was to give out the prizes, take photographs, congratulate everyone involved and thank the audience for their enthusiastic participation.

Now we start planning for FilmScore 2017, bigger and better than ever.